SALT PONDS…

Old salt ponds at Rio Maior,

I was still an infant, passing by every now and then by the salt ponds, and could not imagine that place as it is.

I know nothing about salt production, and to be honest, that was not my biggest concern, so…. Why would I waste my time visiting the salt ponds?!

My husband has been telling me every now and then, we should visit Rio Maior and have a walk by the salt ponds area..

So we drop by for lunch near by, and decided to visit the so talked place…

I must confess, I fell in-love by that place, the oldness of those houses, the history of those ponds, the local commerce… All in there has history, surrounded by the mountains and a small village… 

I keep not knowing nothing about the salt production… 

But I found a great place, full of natural beauty 😉